Ballyboy NS students who took part in the local Offaly Enterprise Office Most Enterprising Student Awards. Back row: Mary McIntyre, Office of Local Business, Luke Gill, Lucy Molloy, Cliodhna Young, Sean Dillon, Diarmuid Molloy, Pat O’Gorman, Office of Local Business. Front row: Caitlin Hynes, Emer Bracken, Cody Mahon, Liam Kilmartin, Fiachra Carroll.

Pupils from primary schools around Offaly have been recognized for their business efforts by the Local Enterprise Office Offaly as part of its Most Enterprising Student initiative.

The initiative offers schools the possibility of rewarding a student who has created and managed his own business. Many schools that participated in the competition held a “Company Day” where students designed, manufactured and sold their products. The school then chose its winner from all the students who participated.

The awards were presented at a ceremony at the Tullamore Court Hotel on Monday by Pat O’Gorman, a member of the Local Business Office Assessment Committee.

Mr. O’Gorman congratulated the students, their teachers and their parents for all the hard work that has been done in the student companies and encouraged the students to pursue their business ideas and reminded them that all great companies start with a idea and that with hard work can turn into a business capable of growing and employing people.

Mary McIntyre from the Offaly Local Business Office told the students how excited she was to meet the next generation of Offaly entrepreneurs. She said she was very impressed with the products, displays and business skills. She reminded them that thanks to the initiative of the most enterprising students, they would have learned a lot, including: business planning, market research, marketing and teamwork, which will help them in their future. career and hopefully for some of them it will encourage them to consider self-employment as a career choice.

The nominated children had the opportunity to display their products during the award ceremony and also to sell on the day. Some examples of student-run businesses include free-range eggs, home baking, crafts, bicycle repairs, handmade jewelry, and gifts.

Each nominated school received a prize including a €50 book voucher and a framed certificate.

This year, 12 schools took part in the competition and named their most enterprising student(s).

The nominated students are:

Broughall National School: Billy Feighery; Scoil Chrónáin Naofa, Dromakeenan: Rosanna Bergin; Scoil Bhríde, Ballyboy: Emer Bracken, Caitlin Hynes, Lucy Molloy, Cliodhna Young, Luke Gill, Cody Mahon, Seán Dillon, Liam Kilmartin, Fiachra Carroll, Diarmuid Molloy; Coolderry Central School » Cathal Carroll; Kinnitty National School: Jack Longworth, Jayden Flaherty, Michael Dennedy; Sainte Philomène National School: Sarah Geraghty, Samantha Malniece; Rashina National School: Irene Egan; Scoil Mhuire Naofa, Rhode: 6th Class; Scoil Naomh Mhuire, Cloneygowan: Alan Meredith; Gortnamona National School: Erin Murphy; Scoil Naomh Mhuire, Walsh Island: Ava England, Evie Monahan; Seir Kieran National School, Clareen: Tyler Madden

The Office Local d’Entreprise Offaly would like to express its sincere thanks to the teachers, parents and principals for their involvement in the system.

About The Author

Related Posts